Micronesia means small islands, and that's exactly what they are. The Federated States of Micronesia are made up of four island groups - Yap, Chuuk, Pohnpei and Kosrae - located in the eastern half of the Pacific Ocean. They're roughly 3000 miles (5000km) west of Hawaii, 2000 miles (3000km) east of the Philippines and 1000 miles (1500km) north of Papua New Guinea. Although they cover an ocean expanse five times the size of France, the total land mass of the 607 islands is less than the size of an average US city. The islands of Chuuk are high volcanic islands. Truk Lagoon has both coconut palm-fringed coral atolls and islands that are more like the volcanic islands of Hawaii, with fertile soils, lush vegetation and abundant water.